“Resolutions”

I thought a little bit about resolutions, but I don’t really like to call them resolutions. I’ve made some in the past and I’ve just never really stuck to them. I’m also the kind of person who believes that at the end of October if you have too much Halloween chocolate and you want to cut down on the amount of chocolate you consume, you should just do it instead of waiting for the New Year so you have a resolution to fulfil (because let’s face it, how many people do you actually know who have succeeded a “cutting down on chocolate” resolution? If you have then I applaud you).

During the last week of 2015, however, I did decide there were a few things I wanted to change in my life, so maybe I should try making some New Year’s resolutions. Here they are:

  • Read 30 books
  • Say yes to more things
  • Write!!! aka, blog at least once a month, finish episode scripts etc.
  • Watch every movie in the cinema that I want to
  • Be kinder
  • Take being a vegetarian more seriously
  • Go swimming at least once a week
  • Take the dog out every day/every other day

These are pretty vague resolutions, I’ll admit, but I wanted to be reasonable and set myself an achievable target. I believe I can do all of these things this year. I have started on some of these in the last week of 2015, such as taking the dog out and taking being a vegetarian more seriously, but I realised last night that I should say yes to more things, otherwise I’m never going to get what I want out of life. They’re not even resolutions really, they’re just things to remember, but things like reading 30 books this year is something that I really want to try to do. I don’t know why, but I just want to know that by the 31st of December, I will have a weird little accomplishment like that. “Be kinder” isn’t a really a resolution either, it’s just something that I should do. I don’t think I’m that bad in levels of being a total bitch, but I could be nicer to people in some aspects. I wanted to put something on the list that would make me change something about me, not just something to remember to do.

I have a good feeling about this year, and I hope everyone else does too. Happy new year, have a great 2016!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

