College Reviews – Ant-Man

Ant-Man was a wicked new film to add to the Marvel Cinematic Universe and a great film to end the second phase of the MCU with. Even though there was the origin story of Guardians of the Galaxy last summer, the way the origin story of Ant-Man was made was really refreshing but also had a nice MCU phase one origin story feel to it.

Peyton Reed directed this new superhero film with Edgar Wright, Joe Cornish, Adam McKay and Paul Rudd writing the script. It starts off in 1989 with scientist Hank Pym (Michael Douglas) resigning from S.H.I.E.L.D because they attempted to recreate his Ant-Man suit that decreases your size but increases your strength. In the present day, Pym has been forced out of his own company by his daughter Hope van Dyne (Evangeline Lilly) and Darren Cross (Corey Stoll). Scott Lang (Rudd), with the help of his friends Luis (Michael Peña), Dave (Tip “T.I.” Harris) and Kurt (David Dastmalchian), burgals Pym’s house but only finds what he believes to be an old motorcycle suit. He takes it anyway and eventually puts it on but accidentally shrinks himself once wearing it. Pym contacts him through the suit, and together, with the help of Luis, Dave, Kurt and Hope, stop Cross, who has made a shrinking suit of his own, from selling it to Hydra.

I thought Ant-Man was so cool. The concept of a suit that shrinks you but makes you stronger is just a great idea to add to the MCU. Not only was the preparation for the big action scene along with the big action scene itself so fun to watch and made me want to be Ant-Man, like the rest of the MCU, Ant-Man did not disappoint with the comedy elements. Scott Lang’s friends were loveably hilarious, as well as Lang himself (but when the actor is Paul Rudd, I would expect nothing less).

I just have a few bones to pick with the film. Michael Douglas as Hank Pym annoyed me, I can’t pin-point why, but he just did. I think it was because Douglas seemed like he was just reading from a script the whole time and was quite stiff when acting. The film altogether too, although I really liked it and thought it was refreshing considering there haven’t been many origin stories lately, seemed a bit behind with the times compared to the other phase two films. I hope it improves with it’s intensity levels to match Captain America: The Winter Soldier and Avengers: Age of Ultron in the future, but it didn’t stop me from as I previously said liking the phase one origin story feel to it.

I can’t review this film without mentioning the mid-credits and post-credits scenes either. The mid-credits scene made me very excited to see Ant-Man and the Wasp in action together, but the post-credits scene had me ecstatic for Captain America: Civil War. I won’t spoil it, but it is well worth sitting through the credits to see it if you’re a big Marvel fan like myself.

Ant-Man was just a really funny and awesome superhero film, I’m definitely going to buy some of the comics, and I really cannot wait for the involement of Ant-Man in Civil War.

This entry was posted in College Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

