College Reviews – Ted 2

Seth MacFarlane is honestly very impressive having co-written with Alec Sulkin and Wellesley Wild, directed, co-produced, and starred in Ted 2, a sequel to the 2012 film simply called Ted.

Throughout this comedy, Ted (MacFarlane), a foul-mouthed teddy bear, is married to his girlfriend Tami-Lynn (Jessica Barth), but the marriage is breaking down so they decide to have a child. However, the couple are infertile so they try to adopt which brings the question of Ted’s legal status as a person. He is declared property rather than a person and is consequently fired from his job and his marriage is annulled against his will. Ted, his best friend John Bennett (Mark Wahlberg) and his lawyer Samantha Leslie Jackson (Amanda Seyfried), with the help of civil rights attorney Patrick Meighan (Morgan Freeman) and an incident at New York Comic Con, eventually get the ruling overturned and Ted and Tami-Lynn start their family together.

Although there were some funny moments in Ted 2, it wasn’t as good as it’s predecessor in my opinion. Whilst there were some definite funny moments, funnier than Ted, the story just wasn’t as good as the original. I found Ted 2 to be quite repetitive with events similar to Ted, even though the focus this time was more on Ted and not John. But still, it’s jam packed with bad language and humour that is pleasantly offensive, keeping up with MacFarlane’s style. I found some slapstick comedy performed by Wahlberg to be very entertaining, especially during a scene at the sperm bank that had me laughing the whole way through.

Seyfried stood out to me, but not because her performance was especially brilliant like in Les MisérablesMamma Mia! and fellow comedy film Mean Girls. In fact, I don’t think she lived up to her past roles as her character in Ted 2, most notably bonding over a love for marijuana with her clients. However, I’m certain that her performance wasn’t as strong as past roles due to the way her character was written, but she was good enough to give me a relaxing and funny evening at the cinema, so she wasn’t all bad.

Giovanni Ribisi reprises his role as Ted’s creepy stalker Donny, who’s evil plan to kidnap Ted to create more living teddy bears with the help of toy company Hasbro had me shocked. His performance as a creepy stalker is scarily good – I honestly did not see his devious plan coming. I think the credit for that however goes to MacFarlane, Sulkin and Wild for writing it. The teamwork from Ribisi and the writers to bring it to life really made me scared for Ted and his friends and brought out fearful gasps from the audience.

I don’t think that Ted 2 was honestly that memorable, and I probably won’t watch it again unless it’s either on TV, someone else chooses it on a movie night, or I’m in the mood something comically offensive. If you asked me during a casual conversation what I thought of it, I’d just shrug my shoulders and say “it was alright”. MacFarlane and Wahlberg’s efforts didn’t quite succeed in making their on-screen friendship as memorable as their first performance as “thunder buddies”, but it’s still familiar as something you’d expect from MacFarlane.

This entry was posted in College Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

