An Independent Train Journey

I’m currently on an hour long train journey on my own to go and visit my cousin up north. Just slightly daunting for a 16 year old with ASD, ADD and Dyscalculia. If I’m honest, I can’t believe my Mum even trusted me to go – I don’t understand train maps or times and I can’t make eye contact with strangers.

I did book a window seat with a table that could fit 4 people around it so I could sit and write, but I haven’t got a notebook and pen with me because I couldn’t fit it in my bag. However, I’m not actually in my allocated seat, I’m in the one behind it because the 3 other people were an exhausted mother and her young, loud children. The extremely nice elderly lady sitting on one of the seats behind my reserved one offered me the seat next to her. She was getting off at the next stop so she said it was okay that I have her seat once she’d gotten off – probably either to not crowd the mother of the loud children who I feel quite bad for, or to let me sit and read my book in peace. Either way I’m grateful.

My brother and Mum made sure I was on the right train though, I just found it a bit awkward trying to get my seat. I was trying to explain that my seat was next to the mother’s son but I don’t think they quite understood. And that’s when the elderly lady saved me. I’m almost at my stop now though and I’m still alive and not in Scotland, so all is well. I do feel like I’m on the train to Hogwarts a bit, I feel quite independent and I rather like it. But the train was delayed by 30 minutes, which is okay, I just have to make sure I listen to the announcements.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Independent Train Journey

  1. I consider it a personal victory every time I get on a train and don’t end up in Scotland!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a victory! I haven’t been on the train since, but at least now I’m more confident in myself that I can actually travel by train by myself. Now I just have to tackle the bus!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I hate buses… At least trains are confined to the tracks (not that this guarantees that I’ll get on the right one…) – I’ve never been able to trust buses to actually go to where I want to be.

        Like

      • I feel exactly the same! I think everyone thinks it’s better for me to get the bus to my new school that’s a couple of towns over, but buses are unreliable. They’re always late, they stop every 5 minutes, and they don’t tell you where they’re stopping. Trains are just easier and more trustworthy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I feel lucky that I have my license and can afford a car, because it means that I can do a lot more things without worrying about public transport issues – I still have anxiety about needing to know exactly where I’m going, how I’m going to get there and having to coordinate parking, but overall it gives me so much more freedom than I would otherwise have.

        I think that if I *had* to get a bus, I could probably adapt to a consistent bus route once over the initial hurdle. The lateness thing, though… ugh… I freak out a lot over buses… :/

        Like

      • Yep, organisational skills is something that I am very bad at, but a consistent routine especially when I wake up and go to bed is very important for me to feel organised and be able to do things with my day. I can’t really read bus timetables for a start, but when I figure out what time a bus is meant to be coming but then it’s late, it’s a real issue for me because then I’m rushing around and no longer organised. A car would help me so much but I’ve only just turned 17 so I’d have to learn first, then find the money, then find consistent routes to school. But I do like going on trains because it makes me feel independent and as if I can take care of myself.

        Like

Leave a Reply

